A Rose For Emily Rewrite

So I threw them away just as I did thirty years before about the smell. Two years before that my father died and the man that everyone though would marry me left me. After that I hardly went out and people almost did not see me. I live with a young negro man and that was the only sign of life in my house. People started saying that there was a smell coming from my house. A woman complained to the mayor about the smell but he did not know what to do, he though the it was a rat or something that the nigger had killed. Then 2 more complaints, but still they didin’t know what to do, so they reunited and said they would sent me a letter but that didin’t happend so insted 4 men came at midnight checking my home for the nasty smell. After sometime the sprinkled some lime in the cellar and in all the outbuildings. As they went back I lighted a candle and sat in my chair. They just keep going but with more silence and patience. After like 2 weeks the smell went away. People started felling sorry for me because the though of my ___ ho had gone craze thinking that we held aurshelves a little to high for what we realty were. My father was really protective of me so when I was 30 years old I was still single. When my father died the house was all I had left. The day after he died ladies called at the house to offer condolence and aid. I went out as usual and said that my father was not dead. They tried pursuading me to get rid of the body but I wouldnt lef them, just before they resorted to force I let them take the body and they quickly buried him. But I wasen’t crazy It was just because he had been so protective of me that I was like that to.

Leave a Reply

